Lombardi Award names high school finalists

By on December 3, 2013 2:13 pm

In association with the Rotary Club of Houston and the Rotary Lombardi Award, the “Chip off the Old Block” finalists have been announced. Among the finalists is Connor Humphreys (pictured). Read more…

– Dallas Jackson, NationalHSFootball.com

In association with the Rotary Club of Houston and the Rotary Lombardi Award, the “Chip Off the Old Block” finalists have been announced.

Since 1970 the Rotary Lombardi Award has been given annually to the top offense or defensive lineman who, in addition to outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the discipline of Vince Lombardi.

gI_119606_Lombardi-TrophyThe second annual Chip Off the Old Block award is given to those high school football players that best represent the same traits as expected of their collegiate counterparts.

As an homage to the Seven Blocks of Granite offensive line at Fordham University of which Vince Lombardi was a member during the 1936 season these high school finalists are dubbed “Chips Off the Old Block” as they project to be tremendous collegiate athlete as well as being identified early as potential, future Lombardi Award candidates.

The finalists are divided into seven, select geographic regions from the Northeast, Midwest, South, and West as well as an individual state winners from California, Florida, and Texas.

The 2013 honorees will be announced during the Rotary Lombardi Award Presentation on December 11 at the Wortham Center in downtown Houston, Texas. The Rotary Lombardi Award ceremony will again be shown across the country via a live television broadcast on CBS Sports Network, hosted by Spencer Tillman.

Inaugural winners included Robert Nkemdiche (Ole Miss) from the South and Eddie Vanderdoes (UCLA) representing California.

Joey Bosa (Ohio State), Steve Elmer (Notre Dame), Patrick Kugler (Michigan), Scott Pagano (Clemson), and Kent Perkins (Texas) were the winners for Florida, Midwest, Northeast, West, and Texas, respectively.


California Jamadre Cobb, LB Los Angeles (Cali.) Salesian Arizona
California Matt Dickerson, DE San Mateo (Cali.) Junipero Serra Notre Dame
California Damien Mama, OT Bellflower (Cali.) St. John Bosco Undeclared
Florida Dillon Bates, LB Ponte Vedra (Fla.) High Tennessee
Florida Demarcus Christmas, DT Bradenton (Fla.) Manatee Florida State
Florida KC McDermott, OT Wellington (Fla.) Palm Beach Central Miami
Midwest Dante Booker, LB Akron (Ohio) St. Vincent-St. Mary Ohio State
Midwest Daniel Helm, TE Chatham (Ill.) Glenwood Tennessee
Midwest Braden Smith, OT Olathe (Kan.) South Undeclared
Northeast Da’Shawn Hand, DE Woodbridge (Va.) High Alabama
Northeast Damien Prince, OT Forestville (Md.) Bishop McNamara Undeclared
Northeast Quenton Nelson, OT Red Bank (N.J.) Catholic Notre Dame
South Alex Bars, OT Nashville (Tenn.) Montgomery Bell Notre Dame
South Cameron Robinson, OT West Monroe (La.) High Alabama
South Tre Williams, LB Mobile (Ala.) St. Paul’s Auburn
Texas Demetrius Knox, OG Fort Worth (Texas) All Saints Episcopal Ohio State
Texas Solomon Thomas, DE Coppell (Texas) High Undeclared
Texas Zach Whitley, LB Houston (Texas) North Shore Alabama
West Connor Humphreys, DE Portland (Ore.) Central Catholic Arizona State
West Dalton Schultz, TE South Jordan (Utah) Bingham Undeclared
West Casey Tucker, OT Chandler (Ariz.) Hamilton Undeclared


About the Rotary Lombardi Award:
Established in 1970, the Rotary Lombardi Award has raised millions of dollars to help support cancer research, public education and direct services to cancer patients. The tradition of service about self – the Rotary motto – continues this year. The 43rd Rotary Lombardi Award show will be held December 11, 2013, at the Wortham Center in Houston, Texas and will again be hosted by CBS Sports Network analyst Spencer Tillman.

For more information on the schedule of events and ticket opportunities, please visit www.rotarylombardiaward.org and follow the March to Gridiron Greatness on Twitter at @RotaryLombardiAward.

National College Football Awards Association:
The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, www.NCFAA.org.


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

  • Pre-Preseason Top 25

    Football Team 2014
    1. Bishop Gorman
    Las Vegas (NV)
    No. 3
    2. De La Salle
    Concord (CA)
    No. 2
    3. Miami Central
    Miami (FL)
    No. 13
    4. Katy
    Katy (TX)
    No. 14
    5. Centennial
    Corona (CA)
    No. 16
    6. DeMatha
    Hyattsville (MD)
    7. DeSoto
    DeSoto (TX)
    No. 20
    8. St. John Bosco
    Bellflower (CA)
    No. 19
    9. Archer
    Lawrenceville (GA)
    No. 41
    10. Bingham
    South Jordan (UT)
    No. 18
    Pre-Preseason Poll 2014